Advertisement
Markets · 03:05 UTC
  • BTC $81,724 +0.5%
  • ETH $2,414 −0.2%
  • BNB $721.03 +0.1%
  • XRP $1.30 −0.5%
  • SOL $103.83 −0.5%
  • TRX $0.3331 −0.7%
  • FIGR_HELOC $1.07 +3.0%
All prices →
Home » Companies » Bridge (Stripe): which entity contracts with your users, and under which licence

Bridge (Stripe): which entity contracts with your users, and under which licence

Bridge website
Homepage of bridge.xyz, captured 1 Oct 2026. Editorial screenshot of a public website, shown for identification. Visit site

Bridge at a glance

Checked 30 Sep 2026. Every item names its evidence and links its source.

Overview

  • Parent companyStripeAcquisition completed 4 Feb 2025Company-reported stripe.com
  • EU authorisationMiCA CASP + EMIBridge Building S.A., CSSF Luxembourg, 29 Jun 2026Official record edesk.apps.cssf.lu
  • US money transmissionBridge Building Inc.NMLS 2450917; FinCEN MSB entryCompany-reported bridge.xyzOfficial record msb.fincen.gov
  • US national trust bankConditional approvalCompany-reported, 17 Feb 2026; final OCC approval pendingCompany-reported bridge.xyz
  • 5of 10
    MiCA services in its ESMA register entryScale: 10 (MiCA service types (a–j))Incl. custody and execution of ordersOfficial record esma.europa.euCompany-reported bridge.xyz
  • 30of 30
    EEA states covered by its MiCA authorisationScale: 30 (EEA states)Home state Luxembourg + 29 passportedOfficial record esma.europa.eu
  • 33of 51
    US jurisdictions on its licence pageScale: 51 (50 states + DC)34 licence rows (Louisiana twice); counted by CrypturedCryptured count bridge.xyz

Figures the company publishes

  • 30Countries with stablecoin-backed cardsAs of 2026. Target 100+ by end-2026Company-reported bridge.xyz
  • 10+Blockchains on the orchestration APIAs of 2026Company-reported bridge.xyz
  • up to 1%End-user FX spreadAs of 2026Company-reported bridge.xyz
  • “tens of billions”Stablecoin transactions movedAs of 2026. Metric not defined by the companyCompany-reported bridge.xyz

Entities & licences

  • Bridge Building Inc.USUS user terms, money transmission, stablecoin issuerCompany-reported bridge.xyz
  • Bridge Building S.A.Luxembourg (B298785)EEA users; MiCA CASP and EMICompany-reported bridge.xyzOfficial record edesk.apps.cssf.lu
  • Bridge Building LimitedNot statedUsers outside the EEA and USCompany-reported bridge.xyz
  • Bridge Ventures LLCUS (Delaware)Card programme manager; FinCEN MSB entryCompany-reported bridge.xyzOfficial record msb.fincen.gov
  • Bridge Building Sp. z o.o.Poland (KRS 0001039515)Older EEA terms page still publishedCompany-reported bridge.xyz

Licences and registrations

AuthorityWhatEntityDateEvidence
CSSFLuxembourg / EEAMiCA crypto-asset service provider N00000012Bridge Building S.A.29 Jun 2026Official record edesk.apps.cssf.lu
CSSFLuxembourgElectronic money institution W00000024Bridge Building S.A.29 Jun 2026Official record edesk.apps.cssf.lu
CSSFLuxembourgRegister entry type EMONEY_TOKEN (token not named)Bridge Building S.A.20 Aug 2026Official record edesk.apps.cssf.lu
FinCENUSMoney services business registrationBridge Building Inc.–Official record msb.fincen.gov
US states (company page)33 jurisdictionsMoney transmission and related licencesBridge Building Inc.–Cryptured count bridge.xyz
OCCUSNational trust bank: conditional approval (company-reported)Bridge17 Feb 2026Company-reported bridge.xyz

Timeline

  1. Stripe announces it is acquiring BridgeCompany-reported bridge.xyz
  2. Stripe completes the acquisitionCompany-reported stripe.com
  3. Open Issuance announcedCompany-reported bridge.xyz
  4. OCC conditional approval for a national trust bank (company-reported)Company-reported bridge.xyz
  5. Bridge cards integrated with Stripe IssuingCompany-reported bridge.xyz
  6. Planned stop of new USDH issuanceCompany-reported bridge.xyz
  7. CSSF authorises Bridge Building S.A. as MiCA CASP and EMIOfficial record edesk.apps.cssf.lu
  8. CSSF register adds an e-money token entryOfficial record edesk.apps.cssf.lu

Products

  • LiveOrchestration API (USDC, USDT, own coins)Company-reported bridge.xyz
  • LiveStablecoin-backed Visa cardsIssued by Lead Bank; 30 countriesCompany-reported bridge.xyz
  • AnnouncedOpen Issuance (stablecoins for businesses)Announced 26 Sep 2025Company-reported bridge.xyz
  • LiveEUR / GBP rails via Banking CircleCompany-reported, Jun 2026Company-reported bridge.xyz
  • AnnouncedUSD via SWIFT (Banking Circle)Company-reported bridge.xyz
  • ConditionalNational trust bank servicesSubject to final OCC approvalCompany-reported bridge.xyz
  • Official record regulator register, official filing or audited report
  • Company-reported stated by the company, not independently confirmed
  • Cryptured count our count or calculation over saved sources

In brief

  • Bridge’s legal overview assigns your users to one of three contracting entities by residence: Bridge Building Inc in the US, Bridge Building S.A. in the EEA and Bridge Building Limited elsewhere.
  • Only the Luxembourg entity’s licences are register-verified (MiCA CASP and e-money institution, both 29 June 2026); the OCC trust-bank approval of February 2026 is conditional and company-reported.
  • Bridge’s cards are issued by Lead Bank with Bridge Ventures LLC as programme manager, a different entity from the money transmitter, and the site footer and fee-page footer name entities that differ from the legal overview.

Reader question: if my fintech uses Bridge to move, hold or issue stablecoins, or to run a card programme, which Bridge entity contracts with my users in each region, under which licence, and who plays which role in the card?

Bridge sells stablecoin APIs to developers: orchestration, wallets, issuance and cards. Its API moves USDC, USDT and a customer’s own stablecoin across “10+ blockchains”. Stripe completed its acquisition of Bridge on 4 February 2025.

Advertisement

What is verified today

Register checks on 30 September 2026: ESMA and the CSSF list Bridge Building S.A. as a crypto-asset service provider (N00000012, 29 host states) and e-money institution (W00000024), both authorised 29 June 2026. FinCEN’s list (29 September export) has four Bridge entities; the OCC’s active trust-bank list (31 August) and pending table have none.

Who contracts with your users, by region

You sign the Developer Agreement, which does not name the Bridge entity signing it; your users get services from the affiliates on the legal overview page.

EntityRoleLicence claimedRegister evidence (30 Sep 2026)Status
Bridge Building Inc (US)US user terms (updated 5 May 2026); issuer of Bridge stablecoins34 state licence rows for 33 jurisdictions, one of them virtual-currencyFinCEN MSB registration listed (declared activity includes money transmission), received 2 Sep 2026; does not verify state licences, which were not checked (NMLS not used)Company-reported
Bridge Building S.A. (Luxembourg, B298785)EEA user terms (updated 1 Jul 2026)MiCA CASP; e-money institutionESMA and CSSF: both listedVerified, authorised 29 Jun 2026
Bridge Building Sp. z o.o. (Poland)Separately published EEA terms; named in fee-page footerFooter cites RDWW-794; nature and status not verifiedNot checkedConflicting evidence
Bridge Building LimitedTerms outside the US and EEANone stated; jurisdiction not statedNot checkedNot publicly disclosed
Bridge Ventures LLC (Delaware)Card programme manager; footer says it serves non-EEA usersNone statedFinCEN: listed, received 24 Feb 2025Footer conflicts with legal overview
Proposed national trust bankCustody, stablecoin issuance, reserve managementOCC conditional approval, 17 Feb 2026OCC decision not located; no match on active list (31 Aug) or pending tableConditional (company-reported); final authority not confirmed

Two more FinCEN registrants, Bridge Building Arx LLC and Bridge Ventures Inc, are not explained on bridge.xyz.

Card and stablecoin roles

RoleWhoEvidence
Card issuerLead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered bankRemitly and Phantom cardholder agreements
Programme managerBridge Ventures LLCSame agreements
Platform providerThe fintech’s brand, e.g. Phantom Technologies, Inc.Phantom agreement
Network and issuing stackVisa; Stripe Issuing since 29 Apr 2026Bridge blog
Stablecoin-to-fiat conversion, processing, settlementNot publicly disclosed; card assets and chains not statedBoth agreements, cards pages
Custody of US users’ cryptoBridge Building Inc, as wallet custodian (contractual disclosure)US user terms
Insurance (contractual disclosures)Phantom card: fiat on the card not FDIC-eligible. US terms: funds BBI or its partners hold while processing orders not FDIC- or SIPC-protected. Other programmes not checkedPhantom agreement, US terms
Stablecoin issuerBridge Building Inc; coins “regulated as a form of stored value”, redeemable 1:1 with BBI or affiliates, subject to user-terms conditionsStablecoin terms

Holders get no property interest in the segregated reserve, and BBI keeps returns above the minimum. In a May 2025 post Bridge described USDB, its own coin, as backed by cash and money market funds at BlackRock; reserve custodians, attestation provider and current composition are not yet verified. Bridge announced Phantom’s CASH on Open Issuance, its white-label platform, and said it would stop issuing new USDH on 19 May 2026 except for migration liquidity; neither step was independently checked.

Eligibility, pricing and dependencies

US users need an account with a partner such as your fintech and must be 18 or over. Which countries or business types may sign the Developer Agreement or run a card programme is not publicly disclosed. The Phantom card is for personal use only. Bridge claims card availability in 30 countries (100+ targeted by end-2026); Visa acceptance shows where cards spend, not where programmes launch. The country list and any non-US issuer are not publicly disclosed. Developers keep all interchange. Developer fees sit in an unpublished order form; end users pay an FX spread of up to 1% plus gas at cost. Bridge says it uses Banking Circle for EUR and GBP and plans USD transfers over SWIFT through it; the USD leg was not verified. Documented programme references are Bridge-hosted card agreements for Phantom and Remitly and the CASH announcement; current production use was not yet verified. Bridge’s orchestration page gives no usable volume measure: its scale statement has no unit, period or method.

Alternatives

PointBridgezerohashPaxosAnchorage Digital
OCC trust charterConditional (company-reported); on neither OCC listzerohash national trust bank: pending, received 19 Aug 2026Paxos Trust Company, N.A.: active, charter 25379Anchorage Digital Bank N.A.: active, charter 25243
Overlapping use caseStablecoin issuance, orchestration, cardsEmbedded stablecoin services in the EEAStablecoin issuance under OCC approvalStablecoin issuance by its bank
MiCA CASP on ESMABridge Building S.A. (CSSF)zerohash europe B.V. (AFM)No name match (30 Sep CSV); affiliates not checkedNo name match (30 Sep CSV); affiliates not checked

Paxos and Anchorage hold operating federal charters; Bridge’s is conditional, zerohash’s an application. In the EEA, Bridge and zerohash both have a register-listed MiCA entity (background: how ESMA plans to supervise MiCA firms). None of the three is shown here as a card-programme alternative.

Limitations and unknowns

  • US state licences: not yet verified (NMLS not used, state registers not checked).
  • OCC conditional approval: no OCC record located on occ.gov, not yet verified (context: why Washington regulates stablecoins).
  • Conflicting evidence: footer vs legal overview; Polish vs Luxembourg EEA terms; CASP services (Bridge lists four, ESMA five); Luxembourg address (26 Boulevard Royal in terms and ESMA, 33 Boulevard Prince Henri at the CSSF).
  • A CSSF “EMONEY_TOKEN” entry dated 20 August 2026 names no token: not yet verified.
  • End-user restrictions in the EEA and rest-of-world terms, and mint and redemption eligibility and conditions under the stablecoin and US terms, were not reviewed: not yet verified.
  • Reserve custodians and attestations for Open Issuance coins: not yet verified; Bridge points to USDH.com for USDH attestations, which we did not open.

Key facts (as of 30 September 2026)

  • Parent: Stripe; CEO Zach Abrams

Sources

  1. CSSF: entity search; ESMA: interim MiCA CASP register
  2. OCC: active trust banks and pending digital-asset applications
  3. FinCEN: MSB Registrant Search
  4. Bridge: legal overview, US licences, stablecoin terms, Phantom cardholder agreement, OCC approval post
  5. Stripe: Stripe completes Bridge acquisition

Last updated: 30 September 2026. Next recheck triggered by: final OCC approval or opening of Bridge’s trust bank; a change to the legal overview or the US, EEA or rest-of-world terms; retirement of the Polish terms; a CSSF or ESMA register change for Bridge Building S.A.; a card issuer other than Lead Bank or a published country list.

About this profile. The information on this page comes from public sources, and some of it was provided by the company itself. It is for information only. Profiles are factual and neutral: they are not endorsements, ratings or investment advice. We cannot guarantee that the information is complete, accurate or up to date, and we accept no responsibility for it. Do your own research before doing business with any company.

Found an error? Send us a correction with a source.

List your company.

Advertisement

Market at a glance

  • BTC$81,724 +0.5%
  • ETH$2,414 −0.2%
  • SOL$103.83 −0.5%
  • Fear & Greed53 Neutral
Updated 03:05 UTC, 18 Oct 2026 · Powered by CoinGecko

All prices →

The Cryptured Weekly

The week in crypto in five minutes, every Monday. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Crypto news on Telegram

New stories as they go live, plus a short market brief every morning at 09:00.