Advertisement
Markets · 20:05 UTC
  • BTC $85,421 +0.7%
  • ETH $2,701 +0.5%
  • BNB $789.25 +1.3%
  • XRP $1.51 +1.0%
  • SOL $121.01 +0.9%
  • TRX $0.3354 −0.1%
  • FIGR_HELOC $1.07 +4.3%
All prices →
Home » Companies » Mesh: routing, custody or payments business? Where the assets sit

Mesh: routing, custody or payments business? Where the assets sit

Mesh website
Homepage of meshpay.com, captured 1 Oct 2026. Editorial screenshot of a public website, shown for identification. Visit site

Mesh at a glance

Checked 30 Sep 2026. Every item names its evidence and links its source.

Overview

  • What it isAPIs and a hosted flow that connect apps to users' exchange accounts and walletsCompany terms and developer docs; not tested by usCompany-reported meshpay.com, docs.meshconnect.com
  • US federal registrationMesh Connect LLC on FinCEN's MSB listActivity 409 money transmitter; filing received 12 Aug 2026; registration number company-reportedOfficial record msb.fincen.gov, fincen.govCompany-reported meshpay.com
  • Contracting entityMesh Connect Inc.Business terms under Delaware law; licences sit with Mesh Connect LLC; link between the two not established from the registers checkedCompany-reported meshpay.comOfficial record efts.sec.gov
  • EU (MiCA)No entry in ESMA's interim registerSearched 30 Sep 2026 for mesh and Front Finance; the privacy notice names no Mesh entity listOfficial record esma.europa.euCompany-reported meshpay.com
  • 2of 51
    US states in its own licence listScale: 51 (50 states + DC)Michigan and Missouri money transmitter licences, company-reported, not checked against state registers; more being pursued, says the companyCompany-reported meshpay.com
Exchange entries in Mesh's docs table 30 Sep 2026
  • 7 No status note (Coinbase, Binance, Robinhood, Uphold, Bybit Pay, Cash App, Crypto.com Pay)
  • 1 Beta (Krak Pay)
  • 1 In development (OKX Pay)
  • 1 TBD (Kraken)

Company docs; coverage varies by entry (e.g. Robinhood US only, Coinbase US + EMEA).

Company-reported docs.meshconnect.com

Figures the company publishes

  • 35Supported blockchain networksAs of Sep 2026. EVM, non-EVM and exchange-only networks (company docs)Company-reported docs.meshconnect.com
  • 22Supported stablecoinsAs of Sep 2026. USDC and USDT have the broadest network coverage (company docs)Company-reported docs.meshconnect.com
  • 100+Team membersAs of Sep 2026. Across the US, Europe, India and LatAm (company-reported)Company-reported meshpay.com
  • US$200M+ / US$1BTotal raised / valuation at Series CAs of Jan 2026. Company-reportedCompany-reported prnewswire.com

Entities & licences

  • Mesh Connect Inc.Not disclosedParty to the business terms; named in the privacy notice; site copyright holderCompany-reported meshpay.com
  • Mesh Connect LLC (DBA Mesh Pay)US (1 Post Street, CA 94104)Holder of the FinCEN registration and the state licences listed by MeshCompany-reported meshpay.comOfficial record msb.fincen.gov

Licences and registrations

AuthorityWhatEntityDateEvidence
FinCENUSMoney services business registration (409 money transmitter, 499 other)Mesh Connect LLC12 Aug 2026Official record msb.fincen.gov, fincen.gov
Michigan DIFSMichiganMoney transmitter licence MT0027385 (company-reported, not checked)Mesh Connect LLC–Company-reported meshpay.com
Missouri Division of FinanceMissouriMoney transmitter licence MO-26-10184 (company-reported, not checked)Mesh Connect LLC–Company-reported meshpay.com

Timeline

  1. Starts as consumer platform Front Finance, later rebranded MeshCompany-reported prnewswire.com
  2. US$22M Series A led by Money ForwardCompany-reported prnewswire.com
  3. PayPal Ventures invests US$6.5M, almost entirely in PYUSD (per Mesh)Company-reported meshpay.com
  4. Shift4 names Mesh as account-linking provider for its crypto paymentsCompany-reported investors.shift4.com
  5. Revolut partnership announced (per Mesh)Company-reported meshpay.com
  6. US$82M Series B led by Paradigm; total funding over US$120MCompany-reported meshpay.com
  7. PayPal announces Pay with Crypto; Mesh says its SmartFunding powers it (PayPal's release does not name Mesh)Company-reported newsroom.paypal-corp.com, meshpay.com
  8. US$75M Series C led by Dragonfly at a US$1B valuationCompany-reported prnewswire.com
  9. Jason Ne Win appointed first CEO of APACCompany-reported meshpay.com
  10. Kalshi partnership announcedCompany-reported prnewswire.com
  11. Joins Paxos' Global Dollar NetworkCompany-reported meshpay.com
  12. World App (Tools for Humanity) integration announcedCompany-reported meshpay.com
  13. FinCEN receives Mesh Connect LLC's MSB filingOfficial record msb.fincen.gov
  14. Deel partnership announcedCompany-reported meshpay.com
  15. Bybit Pay partnership announcedCompany-reported meshpay.com
  16. Cryptured finds no Mesh entry in ESMA's interim MiCA registerOfficial record esma.europa.eu

Products

  • LiveLink (hosted flow to connect accounts, start transfers, verify wallets)Live developer docs; not tested by usCompany-reported docs.meshconnect.com
  • LiveMesh Managed Tokens (stored exchange authorisations)Live developer docsCompany-reported docs.meshconnect.com
  • LiveSmartFunding (transfer routing, up to 5 funding sources)Company descriptionCompany-reported docs.meshconnect.com, meshpay.com
  • LiveManual deposits (QR / copy-paste)The user sends from their own wallet or exchangeCompany-reported docs.meshconnect.com
  • LivePayouts funded from connected exchanges and walletsCompany descriptionCompany-reported meshpay.com
  • Not verifiedWallet-as-a-Service (self-custody wallets tied to social logins)Described in a Mesh blog post; production use not verifiedCompany-reported meshpay.com
  • AnnouncedMesh Alliance Program (routing to settlement options)Company press releaseCompany-reported meshpay.com
  • Official record regulator register, official filing or audited report
  • Company-reported stated by the company, not independently confirmed
  • Cryptured count our count or calculation over saved sources

In brief

  • By its own documentation, Mesh is a routing layer: the user’s crypto stays in their exchange account or wallet until a transfer that Mesh sends on the user’s instruction delivers it to an address the integrating platform chose.
  • FinCEN’s list carries a money services business entry for Mesh Connect LLC, received 12 August 2026, while the end-user terms, signed with Mesh Connect, Inc., still say the company does not engage in payment processing; which flows run under the registration is not explained.
  • Who converts differs by flow and by source: Mesh credits its SmartFunding engine or PayPal, Kalshi’s help centre credits Zero Hash, and the party that executes Mesh’s own conversions is not disclosed.

Reader question: is Mesh aggregation, custody or routing, and where do the assets sit during a transfer?

Mesh sells one integration that lets an app, exchange or payment company pull crypto from a user’s account elsewhere, such as an exchange account or a self-custody wallet, for deposits, checkout payments and payouts. It began in 2020 as a consumer app, Front Finance, and now trades as Mesh Pay from meshpay.com; its developer documentation still sits at docs.meshconnect.com. This profile traces one transfer hop by hop from Mesh’s terms, docs and case studies, partner pages and two registers, read on 29 and 30 September 2026. We did not integrate Mesh or send a transfer; the flow is what the documents say, not what we tested.

Advertisement

What is verified today

Register-verified: FinCEN’s money services business list (export of 29 September 2026) contains Mesh Connect LLC, trading as Mesh Pay, San Francisco, with activity code 409 (money transmitter) and a received date of 12 August 2026. The export carries no registration numbers, so the number Mesh publishes, 31000338087527, is company-reported. A FinCEN entry is a federal registration; it does not establish state operating authority. ESMA’s interim MiCA register of 30 September 2026 has no Mesh or Front Finance entry (background: how ESMA plans to supervise MiCA firms).

Company-reported: live developer documentation for the Link flow and transfer API. Customer evidence has different strengths, and only Shift4’s is partner-authored; it is set out per partner in the settlement table below. Other names on Mesh’s site: Revolut (company-reported in use for wallet verification and deposits, since December 2024), World App (announced June 2026), Deel (announced August 2026) and Bybit Pay (announced September 2026).

Entity and authority

EntityRole in the documentsLicence or registrationStatus (30 Sep 2026)
Mesh Connect Inc. (also written “Mesh Connect, Inc.”)Party to the business terms (Delaware law) and the end-user terms; named in the privacy notice; site copyright holderNone claimed; the end-user terms call it a technology provider of a “communications tool”Company-reported
Mesh Connect LLC (DBA Mesh Pay)Holder of the licences on Mesh’s licences pageFinCEN money services businessVerified on the FinCEN list; registration number company-reported
Mesh Connect LLCSameMichigan MT0027385 and Missouri MO-26-10184 money transmitter licences; NMLS ID 2852070Could not be verified: licences page reviewed, state registers and NMLS not queried
EU entity, if anyPrivacy notice cites MiCA obligations “as a crypto-asset service provider and/or money transmitter”None namedNot yet verified: no matching entity in ESMA’s interim register on 30 Sep 2026; which affiliate the notice means is not stated

The relationship between Mesh Connect Inc. and Mesh Connect LLC is not yet verified. No Mesh page states it; SEC EDGAR has no filer under either name or Front Finance; California’s business register blocked our request; Delaware’s search is CAPTCHA-gated and was not attempted (all 30 September 2026). We assume no parent or subsidiary link. The licences page lists two states and says more US and international licences are being pursued.

Product scope, availability and eligibility

Documented flows are deposits, checkout payments, on-ramp purchases through Binance Connect or other providers, payouts funded from a client’s existing exchange and wallet balances, and wallet verification. Mesh also markets wallets that platforms can create for users; who manages their keys is not publicly disclosed. Neither where a business may contract nor which end users are eligible or restricted could be determined: the terms, privacy notice and docs we read carry no country list, so eligibility has to be confirmed per route and per partner. Mesh’s docs list 35 networks and 22 stablecoins, with USDC and USDT the most widely supported, and ten exchange entries, of which Krak Pay is in beta, OKX Pay in development and Kraken marked TBD; Coinbase is listed for the US and EMEA, Robinhood for the US only. The business terms name only Delaware law and San Francisco arbitration. Pricing and business onboarding criteria are not publicly disclosed: the site’s product pages, the business terms and the go-live guide, which covers only technical steps, carry neither.

Funds-flow map: one aggregated transfer

Our synthesis, in two parts. First the generic flow Mesh documents for a deposit or payment through its hosted Link; then how three named partners settle, each a separate arrangement.

HopWhere the asset sitsWho actsEvidence
1. ConnectUser’s exchange account or self-custody walletThe user signs in through Link; Mesh runs the login and OAuth calls, may receive the user’s credentials, and stores and refreshes the exchange authorisation (Managed Tokens).Mesh docs and terms
2. ConfigureUnchangedThe platform’s server sets transfer type, destination address, amounts and networks.Mesh docs
3. Fund and convert (if needed)Per Mesh, inside the user’s account; during a swap or bridge: not publicly disclosedSmartFunding can draw on up to five sources in the connected account; for PayPal, Mesh says it “converts the asset inside the buyer’s own account or wallet”. Whether the exchange, a bridge or a Mesh entity executes it is not publicly disclosed.Mesh blog; unknown
4. SendIn transit; exchange transfers leave from the exchange’s omnibus hot walletMesh’s API calls these transfers “initiated by Mesh”; its callback fires when the source acknowledges the request, not on chain confirmation. In manual deposits the user sends.Mesh docs
5. ArriveAddress set in hop 2 (platform or merchant wallet)The platform; what happens next depends on the partnerMesh docs
PartnerReported settlementConversion executorEvidence status
Shift4 (merchant payments)Shift4: payments “converted to US dollars and settled to the merchant”Not publicly disclosed: Mesh credits SmartFunding without naming who executes it; Shift4 does not sayPartner-authored: Shift4 named Mesh on 28 Oct 2024, rollout “in stages”. Mesh says the Shift4 product is live in 75+ countries, which describes Shift4’s reach, not general Mesh availability: company-reported in use
PayPal (Pay with Crypto)Merchants receive US dollars (Mesh, citing PayPal’s help centre)Per Mesh: SmartFunding inside the buyer’s account, then PayPal’s side through PYUSD; PayPal’s release does not sayPayPal launched the product on 28 Jul 2025 but its release does not name Mesh: company-reported in use
Kalshi, US users (deposits)Not statedZero Hash, which Kalshi says processes US crypto transfers and converts to and from fiatPartnership announced by Mesh 5 May 2026; Kalshi’s help centre names Zero Hash, not Mesh: company-reported in use

What the map resolves. No document we read describes the asset entering an account Mesh holds. That is an absence of description, not proof, because the executor of conversions and bridges is undisclosed. Mesh does hold credentials or tokens and sends the instruction, and for some flows says it converts. Its own pages disagree on how far that goes: the deposits page says Mesh “never holds, routes, or touches customer funds” and, on the same page, that “Mesh handles the routing, conversion, and delivery”; the Deel page says Mesh is “never in the flow of funds”. Mesh Connect LLC nonetheless registered with FinCEN as a money transmitter, and the privacy notice cites duties “as a crypto-asset service provider and/or money transmitter”, while the end-user terms (2 July 2025, Mesh Connect, Inc.) predate the registration and still disclaim payment processing. Which hop, if any, Mesh treats as money transmission, and under which entity, is not publicly disclosed. The end-user terms cap Mesh’s liability at $10.

Dependencies

Every transfer depends on the source exchange or wallet executing it (the docs list ten exchange entries, some in beta or development) and on the settlement partner; on-ramp purchases depend on Binance Connect or other providers. Bridge operators and conversion liquidity providers are not publicly disclosed.

Alternatives

Closer options for a platform that wants crypto moved and settled for it are licensed infrastructure firms that hold the assets themselves. Two with register-checked entities:

PointMeshzerohashBridge (Stripe)
Holds the user’s cryptoNo, per Mesh; assets stay at the source exchange or walletYes: EU client assets sit in omnibus wallets of a zerohash foundationYes: under its US terms Bridge is custodian of the user’s wallet
US federal registration (FinCEN list)Mesh Connect LLC (409)zerohash llc (409, 414, 415)Bridge Building Inc. (409, 499)
US state coverage claimed2 licences (company-reported)“51 U.S. jurisdictions” (company-reported)Not compared here
MiCA entry on ESMA (30 Sep 2026)Nonezerohash europe B.V. (AFM), custody includedBridge Building S.A. (CSSF), custody included

Mesh fits a platform that wants to pull crypto its users already hold and accepts Mesh’s own statement that it never takes custody; who holds the asset during a swap or bridge should be confirmed for the route in question. zerohash or Bridge fit a platform that wants a licensed firm to hold, convert and settle. They also combine: at Kalshi, per the two companies’ pages, Mesh handles deposits and Zero Hash converts for US users. A platform whose users start with fiat needs a ramp such as Transak, the fiat on- and off-ramp, which sells crypto to the user as principal; Mesh itself routes fiat purchases to ramps.

Limitations and unknowns

  • Michigan and Missouri licences and NMLS ID 2852070: company-reported and could not be verified; state registers and NMLS were not queried, so no lookup was attempted (licences page read 30 September 2026).
  • Inc. versus LLC relationship: not yet verified. EU authorisation and responsible entity: not yet verified (privacy notice cites MiCA obligations; no matching entity in ESMA’s interim register). FCA, Singapore and India registers: not checked.
  • Integration count: conflicting evidence. The docs say 225 wallet integrations and ten exchange entries, while Mesh’s marketing says 300+ platforms.
  • Reach: 400 million users (March 2025) and 900 million (January 2026) are undefined company figures, not evidence of Mesh’s own transaction volume, which is not publicly disclosed.
  • SOC 2 Type II: company-reported; no report date, auditor or scope published.

Key facts (as of 30 September 2026)

  • Series C: $75 million at a $1 billion valuation, led by Dragonfly (January 2026; total raised over $200 million, company figure). A Binance-led round reported in July 2026 is unconfirmed.
  • Terms dates: business terms 5 May 2026, end-user terms 2 July 2025, privacy notice 23 September 2026, licences page 13 August 2026

Sources

  1. FinCEN: MSB Registrant Search; ESMA: interim MiCA CASP register
  2. Mesh: licences, end-user terms, privacy notice, docs: concepts, deposits
  3. Shift4: crypto payments release, October 2024
  4. Kalshi: crypto deposits
  5. Mesh: how PayPal and Mesh work together

Last updated: 30 September 2026. Next recheck triggered by: a change to Mesh’s licences page or new state licences; new end-user terms; any Mesh entity on ESMA’s register; a closed funding round; a change in the docs’ custody or transfer wording; a published SOC 2 report date.

About this profile. The information on this page comes from public sources, and some of it was provided by the company itself. It is for information only. Profiles are factual and neutral: they are not endorsements, ratings or investment advice. We cannot guarantee that the information is complete, accurate or up to date, and we accept no responsibility for it. Do your own research before doing business with any company.

Found an error? Send us a correction with a source.

Advertisement

Market at a glance

  • BTC$85,421 +0.7%
  • ETH$2,701 +0.5%
  • SOL$121.01 +0.9%
  • Fear & Greed65 Greed
Updated 20:05 UTC, 4 Oct 2026 · Powered by CoinGecko

All prices →

The Cryptured Weekly

The week in crypto in five minutes, every Monday. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.