Last reviewed: 2 October 2026
In brief
- A crypto debit card is usually a Visa or Mastercard card issued by a licensed bank or e-money firm, with the crypto company running the app.
- Merchants are normally paid in regular money, so your crypto is sold when you pay or when you top up the card.
- Spending a token that has changed in value is usually a taxable disposal, and card rules on fraud losses do not protect the tokens themselves.
A crypto debit card lets you pay in shops and withdraw cash with money held in a crypto app. In the programmes we checked, the shop never receives crypto: the card runs on Visa or Mastercard like any other card, and your tokens are converted to euros, dollars or pounds first, much as in crypto payments for businesses. Cards differ in issuer, custody, timing of the sale and cost.
How does a crypto card work?
Three parties usually sit behind a card. The issuer is a bank or e-money institution that legally issues the card under a Visa or Mastercard licence, often called the BIN sponsor because the card number range is its own. The programme manager is often the crypto company whose name is on the card and app. The network carries the payment to the merchant’s bank. UAB Monavate, issuer of the Gnosis Pay card, says in its terms that it “engaged Gnosis Pay as the Card programme manager and technical services provider”.
Cards then fund payments in one of two ways:
- Pre-funded (prepaid). You sell crypto first and load the card with fiat. Crypto.com says cardholders “cannot load cryptocurrency” onto its card; crypto is converted to the card currency before it can be spent.
- Converted at the point of sale. You choose a token and the provider sells enough of it when you pay. Bitpanda says your chosen asset “will instantly and automatically be traded to EUR”. Coinbase converts crypto to US dollars for purchases.
Gnosis Pay uses a third pattern: euro, pound or dollar stablecoins are spent one-to-one, so “a €10 purchase = 10 EURe”.
What do five card programmes charge?
We compiled this table on 2 October 2026 from each provider’s card, fee and terms pages. “Not stated” means not found on the pages we read. Coinbase’s fee help page blocked us, so that column uses an Internet Archive copy dated 16 October 2025.
| Crypto.com (EEA) | Coinbase Card (US) | Bitpanda Card | Wirex One | Gnosis Pay | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Issuer named | Foris MT Limited (Malta e-money institution, Visa principal member) | Pathward, N.A., under licence from Visa | Transact Payments Malta Limited, under licence from Visa | Not named; Wirex Limited (UK e-money institution) provides card services, UAB Wirex manages the EEA programme | UAB Monavate (Lithuania) in the EEA |
| Network | Visa, prepaid | Visa, prepaid debit | Visa, debit | Visa or Mastercard | Visa, debit |
| Geographic scope stated | EEA version read | US, except Hawaii | Euro-area residents | App “available in 130+ countries” | EEA terms read |
| Funding and custody | Pre-funded; custodial app | Sold at purchase; custodial | Sold at purchase; custodial | Self-custodial wallet, keys managed by Privy; conversion “may” happen before settlement | Self-custodial Safe; stablecoins spent 1:1 |
| Card fees | Free tier, or €3.99 or €24.99 a month; inactivity €6 a month after 12 months | No spending or annual fee; spread on crypto sales | Free card, no monthly fee | No monthly fee | No transaction fee |
| Foreign currency | Midnight tier 0.2% in EU and UK, 2% outside; varies by tier | Not stated | No Bitpanda fee; Visa mark-up applies | “Zero FX fees” | Visa rate, no added fee |
| ATM | €200 to €1,000 a month free by tier, then 2% | No Coinbase fee; ATM owner may charge | 2% or €2, whichever is higher; €500 a day | Not stated for Wirex One | 5 withdrawals or 200 EURe (or GBPe, USDCe) a month free, then 2% |
| Rewards | 0% to 4.5% in CRO, by tier and capped | Crypto rewards at a variable rate | 1% on crypto spending only | 0.5% to 8% in USD; tier depends on portfolio size and share held in WPAY | GNO cashback ended 30 September 2026 |
Card fees are mostly low; costs sit in spreads, tier rules and ATM limits. Rewards can carry token risk: Crypto.com pays in its own CRO token, whose value moves, and Wirex sets reward tiers partly by how much WPAY you hold. And Gnosis Pay’s own consumer card and web app stop on 20 December 2026; it is directing users to partner apps, and funds in each user’s Safe are unaffected.
Who holds your crypto?
With Crypto.com, Coinbase and Bitpanda, the provider holds your tokens in its app, so you rely on its custody model and its solvency. Gnosis Pay’s Safe is “owned and controlled by you through your Signing Wallet”. Wirex says it “does not hold, safeguard, or control your digital assets”, and that private keys are “generated and managed by Privy”. Self-custody removes the exchange as a failure point but leaves the keys to you: Gnosis Pay warns that if you lose the wallet that owns your Safe, “the funds in your Safe can’t be recovered by anyone”.
Card balances held with an e-money firm are not bank deposits. Monavate’s EEA terms for the Gnosis Pay card state that “the EU deposit guarantee scheme will not apply”.
Is spending crypto with a card taxable?
Usually yes, if the token’s value has moved. The IRS digital assets page lists disposing of a digital asset “in exchange or trade for property, goods or services in any amount” as a transaction, taxed as a capital gain or loss for people who hold crypto for personal or investment use. In the UK, HMRC’s CRYPTO22100 lists “using tokens to pay for goods or services” as a disposal for Capital Gains Tax. On a pre-funded card, the sale happens when you convert crypto to top up, not at each purchase.
Coinbase says spending USDC “should not result in a taxable gain or loss” while it trades at par, and Bitpanda says paying from its euro wallet is not taxable. Keep card statements, since each conversion may be a disposal to report. Broker reporting rules are covered in our guide to crypto tax reporting.
What protection do you get if something goes wrong?
Card payment law covers unauthorised use, within limits. In the EU, PSD2 Article 74 generally caps your loss from a lost, stolen or misappropriated card at €50, unless you acted fraudulently or with gross negligence. In the US, Regulation E limits liability on covered accounts to $50 if you report a lost or stolen card within two business days of learning of it, with higher limits after that. An eligible merchant dispute may be raised through the issuer and the card network’s chargeback rules, a route a direct crypto payment lacks, as our guide to refunds and chargebacks explains.
None of this protects token values or covers a provider that fails.
What should you check before you get one?
- The issuer. Find the legal issuer in the card terms and look it up on the regulator’s register. If no issuer is named, ask before you apply.
- Programme risk. In June 2020 the UK’s FCA barred Wirecard’s UK unit from regulated activity, which for a weekend stopped customers paying and withdrawing with funds held by that firm. Keep a second card.
- Costs. Ask what spread applies when your token is sold, and check foreign-currency, ATM and inactivity fees for your tier.
- Rewards. Note which token pays the rewards and whether you must hold or lock one to qualify.
- Exit. Export your transactions regularly. Gnosis Pay urges users to do so before its card stops, for “tax, expenses or a future dispute”.
Sources
- Card pages, 2 October 2026: Crypto.com cards (EEA) and EEA fees and limits; Coinbase Card and its fees help page (archived 16 October 2025); Bitpanda Card; Wirex card and Wirex One terms; Gnosis Pay Monavate EEA cardholder terms, fees and limits, closure notice and how to prepare
- IRS, Digital assets (updated 2 September 2026); HMRC, CRYPTO22100: what is a disposal
- Directive (EU) 2015/2366 (PSD2), Articles 73 and 74; CFPB, Regulation E, 12 CFR 1005.6
- FCA, Wirecard can resume regulated activity (26 and 29 June 2020)







