Advertisement
Markets · 19:05 UTC
  • BTC $81,472 −2.3%
  • ETH $2,447 −4.5%
  • BNB $727.15 −5.8%
  • XRP $1.36 −4.6%
  • SOL $108.06 −6.9%
  • TRX $0.3330 −0.7%
  • FIGR_HELOC $1.02 +0.7%
All prices →
Home » Stablecoin Payroll Explained: How Businesses Pay Staff and Contractors in Stablecoins

Stablecoin Payroll Explained: How Businesses Pay Staff and Contractors in Stablecoins

Stablecoin Payroll Explained: How Businesses Pay Staff and Contractors in Stablecoins

Last reviewed: 2 October 2026

In brief

  • Stablecoin payroll means paying some or all of a worker’s pay in a dollar stablecoin such as USDC or USDT, usually through a payroll provider that handles conversion and records.
  • Contractors are the easy case; employees are harder, because wage laws and payroll tax rules still apply in full.
  • In the US, crypto paid to an employee counts as wages at its dollar value when received; in the UK, crypto paid as employment income goes through PAYE.

Stablecoin payroll is paying staff or contractors in a token pegged to a currency, usually the US dollar, instead of (or next to) a bank transfer. The business can fund the run from a bank account or a crypto treasury, and the worker receives the tokens in a wallet or converts them to local money. The pay is still pay: the same contracts, tax and records apply.

Why do businesses pay in stablecoins?

Mostly for cross-border contractors. An international bank transfer can take days and pass through currency conversion. A dollar stablecoin can settle on a blockchain within minutes, weekends included, though speed and total cost depend on the network, the provider and how the worker cashes out. It also lets workers abroad hold a dollar-pegged token. Crypto companies also like it because their treasury is already on-chain.

The trade-offs are real. The worker carries the risk of the coin losing its peg, the issuer can freeze tokens at an address, and turning tokens into local money may cost a fee at an exchange.

What do payroll providers offer?

We compiled this table on 2 October 2026 from each provider’s own public pages. “Not stated” means we did not find it on the pages we read. Request Finance blocks our server, so its column comes from Internet Archive copies dated 18 June and 7 September 2026 and its developer docs.

RiseBitwageTokuRequest Finance
Stablecoins named“Stablecoin” plus 60+ cryptocurrencies in split pay; none namedNot named; fee list mentions “ETH-based stablecoin deposits”USDC, USDT “and other major stablecoins”Not named
ChainsPlatform runs on Arbitrum; payout chains not statedNot statedNot listed; “network fees vary by chain”Not stated
Who can be paidEmployees, contractors, freelancersContractors and freelancers; US W-2 staff via an opt-in crypto depositEmployees and contractorsVendors and freelancers; docs mention salary payments to employees
Published list pricesContractors $49 per contractor per month; Agent of Record $299 per contractor per month; Employer of Record $399 per employee per monthBusiness plans $0 a month, or $7.99 per recipient a month (minimum $15.99); the free worker plan lists a 2% stablecoin fee and $15 on ETH-based stablecoin depositsContractor Management $19 per contractor per month; Agent of Record $149 per contractor per month; Employer of Record $599 per employee per monthNot captured
Funding and payoutLocal currency or crypto; split between bothFund in fiat or crypto; worker splits between local currency and cryptoFund by bank or stablecoin; worker picks wallet or local bankTop up by bank transfer or stablecoin
CustodyNot statedNot stated; Gemini named as custody partnerYour treasury keeps its own custody modelNot stated
Published geographic claimPays in 190+ countriesPays across “nearly 200” countriesPays in 100+ countriesCustomers in 190+ countries; payout coverage not stated

Two things stand out. Only one of the four names the stablecoins it pays out, and none gives a full chain list. Ask before you sign, because a worker who gets USDT on the wrong network may not be able to use it. The listed base prices also differ by service: managing your own contractors is the cheapest tier at both Rise and Toku, an agent-of-record service costs more, and employer of record, where the provider becomes the legal employer of your staff, costs the most. Network and conversion fees come on top.

Can you pay employees in stablecoins?

This is where most of the risk sits. An employee has wage protections a contractor does not, and those rules were written for cash.

In the US, the federal minimum wage rule at 29 CFR 531.27 says minimum wage and overtime must be paid “in cash or negotiable instrument payable at par”. It does not mention stablecoins. State wage-payment laws add their own rules, and we have not reviewed them. Bitwage, for example, markets “crypto deposits as a post-tax benefit” for US W-2 staff: payroll runs as normal and part of the net pay is sent as crypto, if the employee opts in. Employee consent or a post-tax structure does not on its own show that an arrangement meets federal and state law.

Outside the US, local labour law decides. An employer-of-record provider such as Rise or Toku may help assess and run local requirements, but get country-specific confirmation before paying any employee in stablecoins. If you employ people directly, ask an employment lawyer in each country before you switch anyone’s salary.

How is stablecoin pay taxed?

In the US, the IRS treats crypto paid by an employer as wages. Its virtual currency FAQ (Q11) says the dollar value at the date of receipt is subject to income tax withholding, FICA and FUTA, and goes on Form W-2. For a US independent contractor (Q10), the dollar value at receipt is self-employment income. The IRS says these FAQs generally apply to transactions completed before 1 January 2025, so check newer guidance with an adviser. Broker reporting is a separate regime, explained in our guide to crypto tax reporting rules.

In the UK, HMRC’s Cryptoassets Manual says crypto received as employment income counts as “money’s worth” and is subject to Income Tax and National Insurance. Where tokens can be traded on exchanges, HMRC treats them as readily convertible assets, and the employer must account for tax and National Insurance through PAYE on its best estimate of the value. That page covers employees; self-employed contractors fall under other rules we did not review here.

A stablecoin that stays at $1 keeps the numbers simple, but someone still has to record the value at the payment time. Later disposals may also trigger capital gains tax in both countries.

What should a business check before switching?

  • Worker type. Start with contractors who ask for it. Treat employees as a separate project with legal advice.
  • Consent in writing. Record which share of pay goes in which coin, and how a worker can switch back.
  • Coin and network. Agree both, and test a small payment to each new wallet address.
  • Freeze risk. The issuers of USDC and USDT can freeze tokens at an address. Keep a fallback bank route for any worker whose tokens are stuck.
  • Records. Keep the gross amount, the dollar or pound value at payment, the network fee and the transaction hash for each payout.
  • Who holds the money. Know whether the provider, your custodian or the worker controls the tokens at each step.

Next to watch: whether providers start publishing full coin and chain lists, and whether the Labor Department addresses stablecoin wages. As of this review, the current text of 29 CFR 531.27 still asks for cash or a negotiable instrument payable at par.

Sources

Follow Cryptured on Telegram

New stories as they go live, plus a short crypto market brief every morning.

Advertisement

Market at a glance

  • BTC$81,472 −2.3%
  • ETH$2,447 −4.5%
  • SOL$108.06 −6.9%
  • Fear & Greed64 Greed
Updated 19:05 UTC, 8 Oct 2026 · Powered by CoinGecko

All prices →

The Cryptured Weekly

The week in crypto in five minutes, every Monday. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.